Last night we had the opportunity at our church to hear from a Korean missionary who is stateside for a few months before heading back to his home in Seoul, Korea.  Peter, his English name, is a good friend of Rudy Vaughan (pilot & missionary) out of our church. 

The thing that struck me most about Peter’s message was the way he described his calling.  He said his “life verse” was 2 Timothy 2:2 which says,

And what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men who will be able to teach others also.

Peter said that God had given him a distinct calling to raise up other men for the work of the ministry.  He has a vision for these men to become missionaries all over the darkest regions of Asia.  A big vision indeed!  But perhaps the biggest impression he left on me was what he said in regards to his calling.  After reading 2 Tim. 2:2 he looked up and said, “God has given me this to do.  And I must obey!”  Wow.  That gripped me.  I must obey.  Not, I should obey.  Not, I need to obey.  But, I must obey!  He felt constrained to do what God had called him to do!  May we, like Peter, be constrained to obey the calling God has placed on our lives.

