Recently I’ve been thinking more about how little I am and how big God is.  How little my ministry is and how big God’s kingdom is.  All over the world there are men and women giving their lives for the gospel of Jesus Christ.  I am just one man.  Just one man doing my part.  This humbles me and reminds me of a verse.  Romans 12:3 says, For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned.

This verse reminds me to measure myself not against others, but by the measure of faith I’ve been given.  I think what Paul means here by “measure of faith” is the common faith that each of us has been given in Christ.  When we do this, any comparison of ourselves to others becomes insignificant because God has given us different gifts and different places to serve.  As members of his body, we are all working together to advance God’s kingdom.  None of us are more important than others.  All of us are in this together. 

So, today I can’t do what you’re doing.  I can’t be where you are.  I can only do what God has called me to do.  I can do my part and you can do your part.  And we can rejoice together as we think about each part playing a part in God’s kingdom purposes.

