There’s been a lot of hype about “Shout to the Lord” being sung on American Idol.  Honestly, after hearing the “idols” sing this song, I had mixed reactions.  On the one hand it’s amazing that these kind of God-centered, worshipful lyrics were being sung in front of millions.  On the other hand, it all seemed rather empty to me, as if Jesus was being promoted in some artificial way to get more viewers. 

All in all, I didn’t see Jesus so much in the song.  I saw him somewhere else–in a very subtle, unexpected place.  I saw him in the eyes of the little children suffering in Africa, affected by AIDS and malaria–without hope in this world.  And I wondered if all this hype about one song, and whether or not we should be happy or upset about it, could be silenced by the faces of hungry, sick children in need of our help. 

The Lord gently reminded me of a familiar passage of Scripture.  Known to many, but practiced by few.

Then the righteous will answer him, saying, “Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you a drink?  And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you?  And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?”  And the King will answer them, “Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.”  ~ Matthew 25:37-40 

