Just to clarify my last post, I’m not encouraging anyone toward unhealthy introspection when it comes to praying, “Search me O God.”  Rather, I want to emulate Jerry Bridges who aims at gospel-driven sanctification.  Why?  Because the former leads to legalism and frustration; the latter leads to communion and transformation.  The first emphasizes me and my sin; the second emphasizes Christ and his cross. 

And so we must do the hard work (or heart work!) of asking God to search us, all the while knowing it is God who is at work within us.  Looking at our many sins is not the answer.  Looking at our one Savior is.  For when we look at Christ we see not only our sin, but his perfect righteousness.  We see our filthy rags, but even more his spotless robe that covers us.

Others say it better than I:

My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.  ~ Edward Mote

I am a great sinner, but Christ is a great Savior.  ~ John Newton

It’s not my muscles but yours Jesus.  It’s not my strength, but yours.  My only hope is you.  My only hope is you.  ~ Dave Busby

Your worst days are never so bad that you are beyond the reach of God’s grace.  And your best days or never so good that you are beyond the need of God’s grace.  ~ Jerry Bridges

