What do C.J. Mahaney and the Apostle Paul have in common?  Let’s see.  Both have been captivated with the gospel.  Both have preached and lived the gospel of Christ and him crucified.   And both have humbly passed on their lives to other young leaders and pastors. 

Question.  Why do they live like this?  What motivates them?  I think a big part of it is that both of them never got over their calling.  They never forgot what God did to save them.  And they never stopped asking, “Why me?” 

Listen to Paul’s testimony in 1 Tim. 1:12-14 and then watch C.J.’s above.

I thank him who has given strength, Christ Jesus our Lord, because he judged me faithful, appointing me to his service, though formerly I was a blasphemer, persecutor, and insolent opponent. But I received mercy because I acted ignorantly in unbelief, and the grace of our Lord overflowed for me with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus.

 

