Name:  Matt Reisetter

Family:  Married to Jen (Bunting) Reisetter, 2 kids – Mason, born in May of 2004 and Jillian born in July of 2007

Where you are on the map:  1925 Main Street, Cedar Falls, IA

Full Time Job/Ministry: 

I work full time for the Iowa Family Policy Center in Des Moines 2 days a week, and then from home the rest of the time.  Our mission is ,”Strengthening Iowa’s families through research, education, civic activism and public policy” … I work mostly in the political realm with pro-traditional family candidates and campaigns, and I do some work helping pastors get our message out to their congregations.  In addition, I’m a very part time associate pastor at a small church in Cedar Falls, and I do some online ticket brokering to satisfy my entrepreneurial appetite!

Is this what you thought you’d be doing when you were in college? 

Believe it or not, it’s not far off … actually, based on the calling and aspirations I understood back in college, I’d say that I’m “ahead of schedule” … I definitely would never have predicted the path that the Lord has taken me down, but I’m blessed to have had the experiences and opportunities I have had so far – in ministry, in politics and and in life, generally.

What do you dream about doing 10 years from now? 

Something in the political field at the state or federal level.  A couple more kids.  A more intimate relationship with the Lord.  Maybe Jen and I could’ve actually gone on a vacation with just the two of us by then, too!

Favorite UNI Memory: 

How can I narrow it down?!  What great years!  In general, I was a big fan of “cakes” at Village Inn after BASIC each Thursday.  A few of the road trips we took to Iowa games were really fun.  And the Christmas party at Mount Carmel on December 15, 1995 … the night I began to see my would-be wife in a whole new light.  Or how about the night Zach ran from The Promisedland to College Street naked for the pot in a game of quarter, dime, nickel and penny poker?!  There was at least 6 inches of snow on the ground, plus ice, and Z wiped out along the way.  Classic!  There are so many more great memories … I’ll look forward to reading everyone else’s.

(Optional) Any other comments or shout-outs to specific people: 

I haven’t been posting lately, but I’ve got a blog that I’d invite everyone to check out and comment on once in awhile … same with Facebook – I’m not too frequent, but have found it to be a great way to stay “caught up” to one degree or another with friends from the past.  Hope everyone’s doing well and spending their lives wisely … and experiencing lots of fulfillment in the meantime!

