After taking a week away from most of the “media” and “technology” in my life (i.e. blog, computer, T.V.), I learned a few things:

  1. I’m self-centered and technology often serves to increase my self-centeredness
  2. I’m impatient and technology often serves to increase my impatience
  3. I’m relational and relationships serve to center my life on others and make me more patient

There is much more I could say here, but I won’t because a different Doug says it better:

Any area of culture that decreases godliness and enhances worldliness must come under the loving discipline of Jesus Christ–for his glory, for our good, and for the good of those we serve. Christians need to withdraw from aspects of our technological culture (which Neil Postman calls a “Technopoly”-a culture dominated by technology) in order to gain perspective on ourselves, God, and our culture.                 ~ Doug Groothuis Ph.D. (Denver Seminary)

