I’ve kept a journal off and on since my senior year in high school.  It’s hilarious looking back on the things I wrote.  Here’s one example of what I mean taken from one of my prayers:

Lord, I know I can’t make it without you by my side, so please help me to believe in myself and live out this great adventure of life.            ~ March 9, 1994.

Funny, huh?  Senior year is when God saved me, and this entry shows how I was beginning to take baby steps as a new Christian.  Since then I’ve kept about 20 other journals filled with my thoughts, prayers, and things I learned from the Bible.

Here’s 7 reasons why I journal: (feel free to add to this list if you journal)

  1. Journaling helps me clarify my thoughts about God and life
  2. Journaling helps me see direct answers to prayer and increases my faith
  3. Journaling reveals God’s sovereign grace on my life over the years
  4. Journaling is an outlet to express my joy and pain
  5. Journaling reveals the spiritual journey God is taking me on
  6. Journaling helps me apply God’s Word as I write down what I’m learning
  7. Journaling reminds me of where I’ve been and where I want to be
