I’m a starter.  That’s why I love the New Year.  I’m a goal-setter.  A man of vision and change, ready to do something new and radical for God’s glory.  So, like you, I’ve got some goals in mind for the new year.

However, my goals are not so much about doing as much as they are about becoming.  It’s taken me awhile to figure this out (and I’m still in process) but I’ve learned that life is not about the quick sprint but the long journey.  That’s why I’m looking at this New Year differently. 

Instead of starting so many new things, I want to keep doing the old things more consistently.  I want to sit at Jesus’ feet each morning.  I want to memorize some key passages of Scripture.  I want to go on regular date nights with my wife.  I want to jog 2-3 times a week.  I could go on, but that’s not the point.

The point is that I want this year to not be so much about new goals, but intentionally growing in the “old” ones.  When I look back on the people who have made a difference in my life, people who I respect as leaders, they have one thing in common.  No, not vision.  And no, not talent–but rather, intentionality in the few things that really matter.  And that, over time, by God’s grace, has shaped them into who they are today. 

So the New Year, as I see it, is not necessarily about setting new goals and starting new things.  It’s about  growing in godliness by doing the same things over and over again consistently with intentionality and accountability.  Accountability.  Why do I mention that? 

In addition to setting new goals, quite often I set goals individually with no accountability.  I try to grow on my own.  The problem is that God has made me to live in community.  And he desires for me to grow in that context.  He wants to use me to help others grow and use others to help me grow. 

So if I expect to change this year, if I expect to grow, I will need to be accountable to a few other guys.  The great thing is when I hear friends of mine growing in godliness, it encourages me to press on.  And when I fail, I’m encouraged to get up and keep going in the strength of the gospel.  In this way, we begin to grow together in community.  And my new year’s goals are replaced with our new year’s growth, as fellow travelers on the journey of life together.

